Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Visiting from the UK

Hi all

Having recently taken early retirement I am about to take delivery of a 270 SV with S pack over here in England.
    The second part of the wish list is to spend a couple of months at some point touring the USA and hope that one of you may be able to help with a couple of questions:-

1. Can I get insurance that will cover me as a non resident to drive for that length of time?
    2. How do I stand driving a UK registered car on your side of the pond?
    3. UK police "allow" leeway up to 15 MPH when enforcing the motorway speed limit of 70, is our perception of strict 55 limits all over the place correct?

Many thanx in advance

Mike, aka Kenty

Hi Mike,

1. Can't say, because as a resident, I haven't ever needed non-resident insurance here. But many UK resident 7 drivers did just this during the 2005 How The West Was Driven tour of 7s, so I strongly believe the answer is yes, you can.
    2. Similar answer to number 1 above; not done it myself, but know it has been done by others.
    3. No. Speed limits vary from place to place, as does enforcement. But typically, anything outside of calibration error, which is generally regarded as only 5-10 mph, is possible to result in a ticket if it is observed by any law enforcement person. No real catch-all answer to this one, unfortunately.

Welcome to the club!
    | | Sean

Comment

Speed limits on the major highways range from 55 to 75 mph. At least in the states I've driven. Some states give more leeway than others.

Are you going to be in California?

Comment

Originally posted by Doug Liedblad View Post
        Speed limits on the major highways range from 55 to 75 mph. .........
        Now 80 on some Montana Interstates.