Water/oil heat exchanger

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Water/oil heat exchanger

Anyone have any firsthand experience with either the Cosworth or Lamina heat exchangers on a Duratec 2.3l? I'll probably do the initial runs on the engine without one but I am considering adding one in lieu of a standard cooler before hitting the road.

TIA
    Wide-body Birkin, 2.3l Duratec

Originally posted by Papak View Post
    Anyone have any firsthand experience with either the Cosworth or Lamina heat exchangers on a Duratec 2.3l? I'll probably do the initial runs on the engine without one but I am considering adding one in lieu of a standard cooler before hitting the road.

TIA
    I have no experience with the coolers on the Duratech installation. But I do have significant experience with Laminova coolers on another installation. The coolers, in general, are quite effective and compact. They are also very effective at being an oil filter. We find that after about 1500 - 1800 hours on our aircraft that they should be disassembled and thoroughly cleaned. This is because the small passages between the internal cooling fins can become clogged with the minor debris that inherently floats around in the oil system. Please note that we change the oil and filters regularly at 100Hr intervals. We use only Mobil 1 0-W40 synthetic oil.

Other than that caveat, we like them.
    EscondidoRon

'62 Lotus Seven
    '84 Turbo Esprit (x2)
    '14 Evora
    '77 Esprit S1 (RIP) :(

"A man must keep a little back shop where he can be himself without reserve. In solitude alone can he know true freedom." -Michel De Montaigne 1588

Comment