Announcement

Collapse

Seven Wiki Available

Please check out our wiki available at:

http://www.californiacaterhamclub.com/wiki7
See more
See less

Route Change Confirmed

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Route Change Confirmed

    I received 13 replies on the question of the route direction change (counter-clockwise vs. clockwise) and the majority was in favor, with a few people being indifferent.
    Biggest concern came from John Christensen, who worried about the time we get to the ferries from/to Victoria and the border crossing into Canada. After a few emails that we exchanged I think the opinion is that while we may run into more traffic at the ferry it should not be too bad and probably worth the improved drive along the coast.

    That means....hereby it is decided we are going the other way round! The new route is as follows:

    Date Day Starts Ends
    8/17/2007 Friday Vacaville, CA
    8/18/2007 Saturday Vacaville, CA Weaverville, CA
    8/19/2007 Sunday Weaverville, CA Crater Lake, OR
    8/20/2007 Monday Crater Lake, OR Portland, OR
    8/21/2007 Tuesday stay 1 more day
    8/22/2007 Wednesday Portland. OR Packwood, WA
    8/23/2007 Thursday Packwood, WA Leavenworth, WA
    8/24/2007 Friday Leavenworth, WA Kelowna, BC
    8/25/2007 Saturday Kelowna, BC Whistler, BC
    8/26/2007 Sunday Whistler, BC Victoria, BC
    8/27/2007 Monday stay 1 more day
    8/28/2007 Tuesday Victoria, BC Port Angeles, WA
    8/29/2007 Wednesday Port Angeles, WA Hoquiam, WA
    8/30/2007 Thursday Hoquiam, WA Florence, OR
    8/31/2007 Friday Florence, OR Eureka, CA
    9/1/2007 Saturday Eureka, CA Garberville, CA
    9/2/2007 Sunday Garberville, CA Vacaville, CA
    9/3/2007 Monday Vacaville, CA

    Total: 3200 miles

    Other minor changes are:
    - Shasta Trinity area instead of Lassen Volcanic NP (gets us too far east, difficult for accommodation)
    - Visit to Brammo in Ashland (they are willing to host our group, provided they don't move facility at this time)
    - No Elk Lake loop (unknown road conditions)
    - Eliminated the Rogue River Loop (unknown road conditions, too long)
    - Eliminated the side trip to Shelter Cove. Just been there and the road is bad.

    So far it looks good with Groople.com as travel agency. I will send them the new list of cities with dates and expect hotel proposals with quotes by early October.

    I will send updates whenever I have more information.

    Gert
    Last edited by slomove; September 12, 2006, 08:28 PM.
Working...
X